Posted on behalf of Ashley Smith:
According to our class discussion last week about scandals and controversies they seem to be a critical part of sports. I thought I would pose some questions about these scandals and controversies. Recently the biggest controversy is the talk about major league baseball players and steroids. Unfortunately, I feel that this is almost over publicized and a somewhat older topic. We have known about steroids in baseball for quite some time. Was it ever a doubt in people’s mind that when a player came into the major leagues and put on about 40 pounds of muscle that he was doing steroids?
I feel that the bigger issue is what we allow these athletes to get away with. When should we hold them accountable for their actions? Crime and sport has always been a major problem in our society. These athletes are viewed as heroes to most kids and even some adults. I was shocked to read in chapter 31 of Handbook that a study was done and one in every five NFL athletes have been charged with a serious crime. The text also goes on to say that the media doesn’t really cover sexual violence against women. Although, I feel this information is a bit out of date. We have seen in past years that this has changed since 1997. Between Kobe Bryant, the Duke Lacrosse players, and the most recent Randy Moss debacle, violence against women seems to be highly publicized. Anytime a woman seems to claim rape, abuse, or any other violent act that involves an athlete the media swarms around that rumor. Two of the above situations were proved false. Both the Duke Lacrosse case and the Randy Moss case were dropped.
I’m aware that this is not true in all cases. Sometimes the allegations are well deserved. When an athlete commits a crime he or she is often given less accountability for their actions. The public often thinks “Oh that is a typical athlete.”
Research shows, however, that violence in sports was more severe in the past then now, but the focus of the media is the violent acts of the athletes both on the field and off the field. Violence in general has gone down since the 90’s and now do to regulations the violence in association with sports has gone down drastically.
All of this being said, what is your opinion on how violence is covered in the media when it comes to athletes? Do we praise athletes for being rough and tough or do we frown upon them? Should athletes get special privileges because of their celebrity status or held accountable like the rest of society? Do you feel that athletes are unfairly singled out when it comes to violence? If so, why and where should the line be drawn?
It seems of the past century that a lot of athletes have been in media for drug or alcohol related crimes. I think of which drunk driving is the most ridiculous of all. As we discussed in class last Wednesday, there is no need for a professional athlete to be drunk driving. They definitely make enough money to afford a cab home from the club. Or couldn’t you hire a driver specifically for nights you wanted to go out to the clubs? To me that would seem better cause then you wouldn’t have to deal with parking issues. I know some people say that a lot of people do drive intoxicated and I don’t mean to be so judgmental of drunk driving. I just know some people who have been in serious car accident and have died do to alcohol related car accidents. I personally don’t think anything good can happen when someone is behind the wheel of a car intoxicated and this goes the same for athletes. What is your take on this? Is it ok for athletes to be breaking the law and putting others in jeopardy? Do we, as a society, enable them to do this? Don’t we in fact teach them that they are better then the rest of society and they are above the laws?
Although, violence in sports is common criminal acts shouldn’t be. Why do the media focus so much attention on these crimes that athletes commit? Shouldn’t the media be praising the fact that since the 90’s criminal acts related to sports have seemed to decrease?
“These entertainers are socialized at an early age live under a microscope,
and are constantly held to expectations of a mainstream society that has no understanding for the fact that not everyone shares the same world view.” (pg 538, Handbook)
I want to pose the questions because of this aren’t we in fact teaching the athletes that they are held up on a pedestal and should not conform to the laws of the rest of society?
Fortunately, there is an uprising in the contact sport field for women, with the popularization of rugby and even the leeway for contact in women’s soccer is increasing. Personally, I wish I had the opportunity to play, so I wouldn’t have to slide tackle girls on the basketball court to get out that pent up frustration. Apparently they frown upon that.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment